Diane's Writing Life

Romance Author as D. Dominik Wickles

Others Like Anne Frank

on November 2, 2014

Just like every other girl in the US, I read Anne Frank’s diary while learning about the second world war. Her story moved me as a teenager. I couldn’t imagine giving up my American middle-class lifestyle to go in hiding because our government desired to eradicate all half Ukrainian, half American-mix people, like myself. To miss hanging out with my friends at the mall, dances (although I was somewhat of a wallflower) and Friday night football games. This is exactly what Annie Frank had to do just to stay alive. I felt for her.

Anne Frank

Anne Frank

Of course, like most other girls, I hadn’t considered there may have been others who also had to go in hiding to escape the Nazis. It wasn’t until now, many years after high school (don’t ask how many), that I came across the book, Hidden Like Anne Frank by Marcel Prins & Peter Henk Steenhuis. This book describes fourteen other cases of children having to hide and/or assume non-Jewish identities in order to survive.

 

Hidden Like Anne Frank book

The book also offers an interactive website with additional photos and audio from the people in the book (www.hiddenlikeannefrank.com).

Very interesting and thought-provoking reading! The people who experienced this life firsthand will soon be gone taking fascinating history with them. We must support our museums to keep our histories alive for future generations.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this….

What do you think?

