Diane's Writing Life

Romance Author as D. Dominik Wickles

Jack the Ripper Unmasked

on March 3, 2015

I’ve recently read Naming Jack the Ripper, by Russell Edwards (2014).

In it, Russell uses forensic science to name the most infamous serial killer of the 19th Century. He bought the shawl worn by Catherine Eddowes on the night of her murder. When the police found her body, this shawl was under her absorbing valuable blood and fluids. These fluids were used to identify the killer’s identity.

According to Russell, Jack the Ripper was Polish immigrant, Aaron Kosminski.

London - Jack the Ripper

 

I won’t tell you any more than that, you’ll have to read the book 🙂

However, now that the mystery has been solved…I have to admit, I’m a little disappointed. We all wanted to know his identity but now that we do…it somehow makes him…only human.

In my opinion, some things are better left a mystery. Don’t get me wrong. I do not idolize serial killers. I’m grateful that for whatever reason (explained in the book) Jack the Ripper stopped his horrific killing spree, but his tale and mysterious identity brought goosebumps to one and all.

Who was he? Was he real? Why did he only kill prostitutes? Will we ever solve the mystery?

Eye of mask

What do you think? Are you the type to rip the mask off or do you love the mystery of the unknown?

 

2 responses to “Jack the Ripper Unmasked

  1. I’m all for the unknown…..as a mystery writer you need to know how to lead your readers to the edge, teasing them all along and then even though you may expose the dastardly deed do-er, leave just that little bit of doubt in their minds. I haven’t read the book you mention but I most likely will because it’s a fascinating subject…..but I bet even after reading it I have just that little bit of doubt in my mind!!

    Pam

    Liked by 1 person

    • I guess you’re right, Pam. There is still some controversy whether the shawl conclusively proves it. I guess I’ll keep that as a little bit of the mystery yet unsolved 🙂
      Thanks for stopping by!
      Diane

      Like

What do you think?

