Diane's Writing Life

Romance Author as D. Dominik Wickles

I Visit Libraries

on October 27, 2015

Being a writer and working at my hometown library, it is an occupational hazard that I visit libraries whenever I travel. I love to compare the architecture of the building, the landscaping and the interiors. Some, like our library, are housed in beautiful, old buildings.

McCord Memorial Library

McCord Memorial Library (website)

Free Library of Philadelphia (courtesy of Phila.gov)

Free Library of Philadelphia (courtesy of Phila.gov)

 

(I was recently at this branch of the Philadelphia library system.

Read about it in my blog post Whirlwind Weekend Research Trip)

And other libraries are housed in modern and sometimes quite creative ‘buildings.’

unknown location

unknown location

Library in Alexandria, Egypt

Library in Alexandria, Egypt

But as attractive as the outside of the library is, what’s inside is more important. Browsing around a library is to me like visiting a candy store. So many books, so little time to read them all!

Again my favorite interiors tend toward the old, marble and wood decor.

New York City Library

New York City Library

university library Madison, Wisconsin

a university library  in Madison, Wisconsin

So, are you a library-lover like I am? What are your favorite aspects of a library?

Drop me a comment, I’d love to hear from you:)

 

What do you think?

